Return to Website

The Charlie Chan Family Message Board

Welcome to our Message Board. Please feel free to post your thoughts, questions, or information.

The Charlie Chan Family Message Board
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Charlie Chan DVDs (again)

Greetings!

First, I'd like to say I'm new to this web site, and this chat board, but I have found it very interesting so far.

Now, without further ado, I'd like to ask about a subject that I know, from reading the previous posts on this board back to May of 2004, has already been done to death. I'd like to apologize in advance, and ask for patience from the board's regulars, but I've just gotta ask again.

I haven't seen most of the Charlie Chan movies for probably 30 years, and I'd love to see them again. It appears that the only way to accomplish this is to purchase the movies. Naturally, I want the best quality viewing experience I can get, at a reasonable price of course, and I'd like have any fresh recommendations anyone would be willing to offer.

I know, from my research on this board, that the dennisflicks DVDs are probably the highest-quality DVDs available, but I'm just not willing to pay $10 a movie. Beyond that I know that the OldTimeRadio UK DVDs get the most, and the highest, recommendations, followed by those from The Vintage Playhouse. Still, I can't help wondering if anybody has any other opinions, or any thing else to add.

Does anyone know what the source material is for these DVDs? I gather that the dennisflicks DVDs have been copied from broadcasts on the Fox movie Channel, but I'd sure like to know where any of the other vendors have gotten their copies?