Return to Website

The Charlie Chan Family Message Board

Welcome to our Message Board. Please feel free to post your thoughts, questions, or information.

The Charlie Chan Family Message Board
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Is Charlie Chan in public domain?

Hello, New to the board. I'm a very big fan of the Charlie Chan films. I'm a Independent Filmmaker in Arizona. I was wondering if the character Charlie Chan is in public domain as Sherlock Holmes? Does a studio own the rights to the Late Mr. Biggers character? If anyone could help on this it would be much appreciated.

Re: Is Charlie Chan in public domain?

Dear Taylor,

Welcome!

No, the Charlie Chan character is not a part of the public domain. Currently, the rights to the character are held by an entity called Leisure Concepts. Although 20th Century-Fox, Warner Brothers, and MGM hold the rights to varying numbers of the films from the Chan series made from 1931 to 1949, any new films, etc., would, to the best of my knowledge, need to be authorized by Leisure Concepts.

One more note: As it seems that Lucy Liu still has plans to make a "Charlie Chan" film of her own through Fox Studios, it just may be that they hold the screen rights, at this time, to the Charlie Chan name.

I hope that helps you, and I (along with others) would be very interested to know if you are considering some sort of Charlie Chan project.

Sincerely,
Rush Glick

Re: Re: Is Charlie Chan in public domain?