Return to Website

The Charlie Chan Family Message Board

Welcome to our Message Board. Please feel free to post your thoughts, questions, or information.

The Charlie Chan Family Message Board
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
A Chinese Charlie Chan Movie Apparently Exists!

Dear Chan Fans:

I have received some exciting news about the apparent existence of a Charlie Chan film made in China in 1939.

Back in 2007, I posted here about six Chinese-made Charlie Chan films. A few days ago, I was contacted about these postings by John Williams, a professor of English at Yale University. (Coincidentally, I am also a professor in an English Department. I'm a linguist at George Mason University.) I sent him all the other information I had gathered about these films. With his permission, I am posting what he has written back to me.

He wrote, “So I've already been able to track down one Chinese film scholar who has seen "Murder at the Taiwan National University Radio Station" (1939) at the Chinese film archive center, which confirms, at least, that it exists somewhere. ... The question now, however, is how to get a copy of it ... .”

Later, he wrote to me, “Unfortunately, I've also discovered a bit of bad news on the possibility of actually getting a copy of the film(s). Apparently the Beijing archive doesn't allow entire films to be reproduced for patrons, and even getting snippets of them is prohibitively expensive ($500 per minute!).”

My suggestion, a suggestion that he also agrees is a good one, is to get in contact with the companies that have released the Fox and Monogram Chan films to DVD to see if they might obtain the rights to releasing this film (and other Chinese Chan films that may exist) to DVD.