Return to Website

Christian's With Depression Message Board

Free Java Chat from Bravenet.com 

Christian's With Depression Message Board
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
feeling quilty and embarrassed because of depression

Hello everyone...I have suffered depression most of my life and I am 54 years old. I was 32 years old when I began to understand what was wrong with me. And even then, I struggled with the diagnoises. I was prescribed medication and didn't like the way I was feeling with it, so I stopped taking it. My son was 4 years old at the time and was the only thing that made me feel happy. I was a stay at home mom and shortly after my husband lost his job due to company closing down, I went back to school to finish what I started when I was younger. It was a struggle with my depression but somehow I managed to earn my bachelors in Psychology. I kept my depression hidden from my family because I knew they expected so much from me. Shortly after I graduated with honors, and you would think I would have been elated...but no, I was not, I suffered a fall that would eventually require Spinal Fusion. All this time, I knew who God and Christ were...I even taught my son about the Lord, however, I never really had a relationship with Him. It took me almost two years to recouperate from the surgery, but the depression was worse then ever before. I don't know what was worse the pain of the surgery or the depression that followed. Nevertheless, since I graduated, I have not been able to work, due to not being able to stand for more than three hours or my back will begin to hurt. The other and I think the most obvious reason is the depression. I sleep all day in order not to face the world and I only get out on Sunday's to go to church and that is also a struggle. It has been six years since my surgery and graduation and I feel like such a failure. I have lost all of my confidence and I don't even know who I am any more. Please pray for me. I am currently on the low