Return to Website

Christian's With Depression Message Board

Free Java Chat from Bravenet.com 

Christian's With Depression Message Board
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
chronic depression

My name is Laurie, and this is my first time on the site.

A few days ago I was diagnosed with chronic clinical depression. This means I'll be on medication (and therapy) for probably the rest of my life, in order to manage the chemical imbalance. My body chemistry is out of wack...and I can't change this!

I have struggled with it for about ten years now (maybe a bit more) and until now, the diagnosis has been situational.

I have had four major depressive episodes. I am currently recovering from my fourth 'bout'. For the last two bouts, I haven't been able to function normally in everyday responsibilities. The first two bouts, I managed to barely 'scrape through', while still keeping up with all of my daily responsibilities. (Symptoms: decreased appetite/not eating, sleeping too much and too little, suicidal/negative thoughts, lack of concentration/daily tasks take longer, body 'slows down', neglect self care because everything takes longer and more effort/don't care/apathy, sensitive to noise, paralyzing fear, paranoia)

I have learned what seems to trigger my depression: being around people too much and being responsible for a lot of conflict resolution.

Ironically, I have been a teacher for the past five years!

I have resigned from my last teaching position because of the depression in order to pursue a more suitable role. I'm so sad. I loved my last workplace, but know I can't handle/wasn't 'wired' for the teaching role I was hired for at the workplace.

I am so scared. After every episode, I vowed that I would do everything I could to prevent another episode. I worked hard to prevent it from happening again. Now the diagnosis is that my condition is chronic, and that I will likely struggle with this for the rest of my life. I'm only 28.